Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it!

Go down 
+2
Janet
rosebud
6 posters
AuthorMessage
rosebud

rosebud

Location Location : Kansas

I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it! Empty
PostSubject: I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it!   I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it! EmptyWed Apr 28, 2010 10:49 am

Just wanted to say hello! I am new to water soluble oils, just bought my first set + extras, and am eager to try them out! Any information basics that you would like to share would be greatly appreciated! I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it! Icon_flower
Back to top Go down
Janet
Janet

Location Location : North Bay, Ontario Canada

PostSubject: Re: I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it!   I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it! EmptyWed Apr 28, 2010 12:05 pm

Hi rosebud! Welcome to the forum! Just a few things that I found helped when I started working with WSOs:

- Work small and simple to start
- Don't hesitate to ask questions
- Don't be afraid to experiment
- Paint, paint and paint some more

Welcome
Back to top Go down
Crystal1

Location Location : Ft Worth, TX

PostSubject: Re: I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it!   I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it! EmptyWed Apr 28, 2010 12:15 pm

I don't know what brand of WMOs you have, but most of them are sticky, when you use only water as your medium. Many people here use M. Graham's Walnut Oil or Walnut Alkyd, among others. I would suggest trying a few mediums with your paints to see what's most comfortable for you.

Dayle
Back to top Go down
rosebud

rosebud

Location Location : Kansas

PostSubject: Re: I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it!   I'm new to WSO, but am glad I found it! EmptyWed Apr 28, 2010 12:31 pm