Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

'The letter' is finished

Go down 
+4
Callie
Janet
Crystal1
kopo
8 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
kopo

kopo

Location Location : Cromer, Norfolk, England

'The letter' is finished Empty
PostSubject: 'The letter' is finished   'The letter' is finished EmptyTue May 04, 2010 9:31 am

'The letter' is finished The+letter

At last. Well nearly. I'll just put a bit of depth in the flat chair back. But I've had enough for just now. Glass of wine called for.
I got a brilliant bit of advice for free. Regarding the eye highlight. I've been painting for too many years to remember and have always blobbed the eye highlight. The advice was 'pick up a touch of white on the tip of a needle'. It worked a treat.
OK you will all tell me that you've been doing this for years. But I'm like a kid with a new toy. Hooray. Yips. Jumping round the room.
I think, and hope, the picture tells the story.
cheers
Jack
lol!
Back to top Go down
Crystal1

Location Location : Ft Worth, TX

PostSubject: Re: 'The letter' is finished   'The letter' is finished EmptyTue May 04, 2010 11:13 am

I love this painting more and more, every time I see it. It's perfect!!

I hadn't heard of using a needle to mark the eye highlight, but I had heard of painting your name with a safety pin. Apparently, if you hold the safety pin at the circle, between your index finger and thumb, you have a lot more control over it than you would a straight pin.

Thanks for the info and I'm happy about learning your idea, too. 'The letter' is finished Icon_cheers
Back to top Go down
kopo

kopo

PostSubject: Re: 'The letter' is finished   'The letter' is finished EmptyTue May 04, 2010 4:41 pm

Thank you Crystal1 sunny
Back to top Go down
Janet
Janet