Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Genesis Paint - Lighthouse

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
JanG

Location Location : NC - USA

Genesis Paint - Lighthouse Empty
PostSubject: Genesis Paint - Lighthouse   Genesis Paint - Lighthouse EmptyTue Oct 07, 2014 11:46 am

Below is a painting that I won't finish. I started painting this on a 5x7 gessoed plywood scrap which evidently wasn't suitable for the paints. I've mentioned that the right support is critical for these paints and I'm really finding out how true this is.

I was maybe 3/4 of the way finished when I decided to use a heat gun to dry it before completing it. It did dry but I got bubbles on the viewer's right where I guess the paint blistered. I have read that you really need to experiment to learn how much heat to apply and for how long so am glad I didn't paint this on a nice expensive panel!

Not only did it blister, but it also developed vertical cracks or splits in the wood itself. I'm guessing that the glue or resin used in the plywood wasn't compatible with the paint or maybe the heat.

These paints certainly do have a sharp learning curve! But, although the supports and heat amount are fairly critical, I am liking the way the paints work. I got some 91% rubbing alcohol (sorry, Judy, no EverClear!) and it thins the paint and cleans up the brushes very, very well.