Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Help me learn Holbein duos

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
pollypainter

Help me learn Holbein duos Empty
PostSubject: Help me learn Holbein duos   Help me learn Holbein duos EmptyMon Jan 09, 2012 11:37 am

I am a pretty ignorant beginner with Holbein water miscible oils and could use some advice. First, how much linseed or walnut oil can I use? I like the Holbein texture for some work, but find myself wanting to thin it down to make it flow or to blend it in some cases. How far can I go? What about a glaze? Is a glaze a lot of oil to a little paint? So far I have been trying to use the Holbein products, so as not to confuse myself. Also trying to avoid water. Thanks.
Back to top Go down
judyfilarecki
judyfilarecki

Location Location : Northern NY and Southern Arizona

PostSubject: Re: Help me learn Holbein duos   Help me learn Holbein duos EmptyMon Jan 09, 2012 2:54 pm

Hi Polly,

Here's a link to descriptions about Holbein mediums which may answer some of your questions.

http://www.dickblick.com/products/holbein-duo-aqua-oil-painting-mediums/#description

I notice they do not have any thinner, but say you can use water. I prefer to use W/N WS Oils Thinner also available at Blick for thinning under paintings(leaner). I've used it with Holbeins without a problem and like it much better than water.

Here is another link within this forum about glazing and demonstrating it which also may be helpful to you.

https://watersolubleoils.forumotion.com/t654-paint-thinner-and-glazing-techniques?highlight=glazing