Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Alkyd Oils

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
JanG

Location Location : NC - USA

Alkyd Oils Empty
PostSubject: Alkyd Oils   Alkyd Oils EmptySat Mar 14, 2015 6:24 pm

I think alkyd oils are closer to traditional ones than wso's so hope I'm posting in the right place. My painting buddy brought over some of these paints the other day and I was intrigued. Thought I'd try a painting to see how I liked them.

This is alkyd oil on a 9 x 12 stone or ceramic floor tile, not sure what it's made of but it has a matte finish to it. I started on this about 8:30 or 9 this morning and finished it about 3:30. I was kind of surprised that I finished it that quickly as I'm a pretty slow painter. Mainly that's because I get interrupted a lot though.

Anyway, C & C appreciated. Painting to follow.
Back to top Go down
JanG

Alkyd Oils Empty
PostSubject: Re: Alkyd Oils   Alkyd Oils EmptySat Mar 14, 2015 6:28 pm

Alkyd Oils Owl10
Back to top Go down
Crystal1

Location Location : Ft Worth, TX

Alkyd Oils Empty
PostSubject: Re: Alkyd Oils   Alkyd Oils EmptySat Mar 14, 2015 8:05 pm

I really like this owl and the colors that you used. Did you have to do any prep to the tile? I've got to agree, it really does look like oils.
Back to top Go down
JanG

Alkyd Oils Empty
PostSubject: Re: Alkyd Oils   Alkyd Oils EmptySun Mar 15, 2015 5:16 am

Thanks, Crystal, these really are oils just like wmo's are really oils but the paint molecules are changed a small amount to behave a little differently.