Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Hi, Just joined the forum

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
ShonaM

ShonaM

Location Location : Newcastle, UK

Hi, Just joined the forum Empty
PostSubject: Hi, Just joined the forum   Hi, Just joined the forum EmptyMon Feb 04, 2013 11:32 am

Hi,

My name is Shona and I've just joined the forum. I've been a watercolor artist for many years but want to try my hand at oils (something I haven't done since high school). I'm so pleased to have found water mixable oils because I'd all but given up on the idea of oil painting due to the turps (I can' stand the smell and I paint in a corner of my dining room). I'm hoping to buy some paints soon and I realise that I will need a lot of practice to get used to the change from watercolor. I can't decide whether it would be better to buy some cheaper oils first to practise with or go straight for some better quality ones. I've been looking at both the Holbeins and the own brand ones sold by jackson's. I've also been told that Royal Talens Cobra are good too. So I'm wondering what the members of the forum would recommend.

I also need a bit of advice on mixers, thinners etc. I want to try to steer clear of linseed if I can, just because of the smell but there seem to be quite a lot of different products to choose from. So what would you all suggest as a good starter 'kit' for a virtual newbie Very Happy
Back to top Go down
judyfilarecki
judyfilarecki

Location Location : Northern NY and Southern Arizona

PostSubject: Re: Hi, Just joined the forum   Hi, Just joined the forum EmptyTue Feb 05, 2013 3:49 pm

Hi Shona,
So glad you joined us.