Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

WSO on top of old oil painting

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
knickenick

WSO on top of old oil painting Empty
PostSubject: WSO on top of old oil painting   WSO on top of old oil painting EmptyThu Jun 28, 2012 7:31 pm

Hi everybody!

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to water soluble oils. I used to paint traditional oil more than ten years ago, but then I gave up for many different reasons. Now I've started painting again, but I need to use wso now. I recently made a lot of changes to one of my old paintings, which was painted in traditional oils. My intuition says that the painting could become unstable, and it doesn't really matter since the painting was quite boring before I changed it, but I'm wondering about the posibility of changing others of my old oil paintings. Is it possible to use wso on top of old oil paintings as long as I keep to the rule of fat layers on top of lean? Or is it bad to use wso on top of pure oil paintings?

I also want to know your opinion about mixing different brands of wso. I've bought both Cobra and W&N Artisan, and they seem to be working very well together. Then I read that W&N don't recommend mixing their products with other brands, but I don't understand why, as long as the paint behaves as expected. Could there be long term problems because of mixing the two brands?

Thanks, I'm looking forward to your answers!
Back to top Go down
watermixableguy
watermixableguy

Location Location : New Brunswick, Atlantic Canada

PostSubject: Re: WSO on top of old oil painting   WSO on top of old oil painting EmptyThu Jun 28, 2012 8:23 pm