A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

Painterly Designerly Type Learing WSOs ?!?!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Weaverville Studios

Location Location : Auburn Hills, MI

PostSubject: Painterly Designerly Type Learing WSOs ?!?!   Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:46 pm

Hello, and Wow am I glad I found this community!! Laughing I design automotive interiors here in the Detroit area. I am very comfortable with gouache paint but have long been frustrated that I simply could not get the 'oil look' I was seeking, so I tried acrylics and did not like the way they mixed/worked/ and were overall did not give me the buttery feel at all so I am trying WSOs and while I like the way they work, I really wish I could get each layer to dry in 12 hours, not 4 days.
I'll take any suggestions. Bear in mind that I am not a traditionally trained artist as I am an Industrial Designer with a BS from Art Center College of Design and never had a class or course in oils, so I'm stumbling around a little bit and still learning the terms and techniques-I'm here to learn, so type slowly... Thanks -Mark
Back to top Go down
Weaverville Studios

PostSubject: Re: Painterly Designerly Type Learing WSOs ?!?!   Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:46 pm

Hello there Community ! Here's a few of my gouache paintings through the years...please excuse the modern graphics-I took these Lo-Res shots from a PPT slide show I created and each image was labeled similarly.

I am here to try and understand how better to move from my gouache experience to developing a Water Soluble Oil technique. Please feel free to suggest, send links or advise me on workflow methods that work for you.

In general my gouache workflow is as follows:

1: Loose drawing on cold press board...If the goal is realism, the drawing gets more detailed.