HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

DSLR Cameras for Reference Photos

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jim

Location Location : Cody, Wyoming

PostSubject: DSLR Cameras for Reference Photos   Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:04 am

Over time I'll be posting here on what I have experienced in using Digital Single Lens Reflex (DSLR) cameras for taking reference photos for paintings.   Hopefully others will add their experiences to this thread and we can build something useful for this specific kind of camera use.   First and foremost, I am not a photography expert.   Secondly, my experience relates to landscape photos and may not relate directly to reference photos for portraits, still life, etc.   (Hopefully others will fill in here.)   Third where specifics of cameras and lens are mentioned, the Nikon brand will be named because that is what I happen to use, not because I am advocating that brand.   I won't be dealing with point-and-shoot cameras.   Perhaps if people want to post on these it should be in a separate thread as they are significantly different.

I won't be posting many "gems", but I think this first tip qualifies as such.   You can learn a lot about photography by going to Thom Hogan's website http://www.bythom.com/.   While most of Thom's reviews are about Nikon, he has many articles that cover general areas.   Especially look under http://www.bythom.com/nikon.htm for the listings under Essays and Other Digital Articles.   I have learned a lot from this site.   I've got to run now, but will list those that I found most useful shortly.

Back to top Go down
judyfilarecki

Location Location : Northern NY and Southern Arizona

PostSubject: Re: DSLR Cameras for Reference Photos   Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:07 pm

Thanks Jim,