Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for artists who paint with Water Soluble Oils

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Artisans Fast Drying Medium

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
kbaxterpackwood

kbaxterpackwood

Location Location : Iowa

Artisans Fast Drying Medium Empty
PostSubject: Artisans Fast Drying Medium   Artisans Fast Drying Medium EmptySat Jan 23, 2010 2:14 am

Like I stated in another thread I started working with WMO's after a 15 year hiatus from oil painting (traditional oils). So my question is on using the fast drying medium how much per half inch of paint and what should I really expect? Btw I've never used a fast drying medium before.

Kimberly
Back to top Go down
Janet
Janet

Location Location : North Bay, Ontario Canada

PostSubject: Re: Artisans Fast Drying Medium   Artisans Fast Drying Medium EmptySat Jan 23, 2010 10:21 am

I haven't tried the Fast Drying Medium yet but many of our members have so they'll probably have more to say on the subject. This is what W&N states regarding their mediums:

"Mediums are additives and as such should be used in modest proportions, just enough to achieve the desired result."
Back to top Go down
Callie
Callie

Location Location : St. Louis, MO USA

PostSubject: Re: Artisans Fast Drying Medium   Artisans Fast Drying Medium EmptySat Jan 23, 2010 12:15 pm

I don't measure it, but only use just enough to soften the paint a bit so it flows easily on the canvas. I dip the end of the brush in it then drag a little paint away from it's pile (with the same brush), then swish it around til it's the consistency I want. I don't like to mix it directly into my paint piles, since I use the same palette over several days and the quick-dry would set the paint and make it impossible to use the next day.